Kansas Angel Investor Tax Credit Program

The KAITC Program is administered by the Kansas Department of Commerce (KDC) and designed to bring together accredited angel investors with qualified Kansas companies seeking early stage investment. The “Kansas Angels” program helps provide access to capital for Kansas start-ups.” 

“The Angel program exists to support small start-up businesses […] we hope it will encourage more start-ups to apply and make it easier for Kansans to invest in promising new businesses.”

Lieutenant Governor / Secretary of Commerce David Toland

Ad Astra Per Aspera

Are you ready to be a part of the next Kansas success story?

2022 Kansas Qualified Business Application

Applications Open February 1st, 2022  

2022 Kansas Accredited Investor Registration

Applications Open February 1st, 2022 

2022 KAITC Qualified Applications may be submitted online beginning February 1, 2022 and may not be accepted after August 31, 2022 for Calendar year 2022. 

Investments made to a qualified Kansas business prior to written approval of award of tax credits by KDC will not be eligible for tax credits.

An LLC or any other permitted entity investor must provide documentation that demonstrates it was established and is operated for the sole purpose of making investments in other entities per K.S.A. 74-8132(g) 

Investment through multiple permitted entities (e.g. LLC-1 to LLC-2 to Qualified Kansas business or Trust to LLC to Qualified Kansas Business) will not be allowed. 

All the equity owners of the permitted entity investor must be accredited individual investors. 

The qualified Kansas business must maintain its headquarters and qualifying operations in Kansas for a minimum period of five (5) years unless they are a bioscience business then, ten (10) years as required by KSA 74-8136(g) and an agreement between the qualified Kansas business and KDC must be signed prior to issuance of tax credits 

Application and Registrations Fees authorized by K.S.A 74-8133(f) and are Nonrefundable 

Application review and tax credit certificate issuance requests will not be processed until the associated fees are received by KDC 

Payments – 2022 Fee Schedule

$250 Qualified Business Application Fee (companies that apply for designation as a qualified Kansas business) 

$150 Investor and Credit Transferee Registration Fee (investors or the transferees of investors requesting the issuance of Kansas tax credit certificates) 

$50 Lost Tax Credit Certificate Replacement Fee (If requesting a certified copy of a lost Kansas tax credit certificate) 

KAITC program fees are paid online at the time of Application or Registration. If online payment is not an option, you may also mail a paper check to the Kansas Department of Commerce (paper check fee payment form). 

*A 2.5% service fee will be applied to online Credit and Debit Card payments (2.5% of the total charge) 
**A $1.50 service fee will be applied to ACH payments 

Kansas Statutes
Code of Federal Regulations

Contact our team to learn more about Angel Investments for tax credits in Kansas

Rachéll Rowand

Program Manager, ROZ, IDA, KAITC

(785) 207-4755Rachell.Rowand@ks.gov

Wendi Lucero

Public Service Administrator

(785) 296-6007Wendi.Lucero@ks.gov