Stay in touch:

Kansas Opportunity Zones


Opportunity Zones, a new economic development tool enacted by the Federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017, offers investors preferential tax treatment for capital gains invested in low income communities designated as Opportunity Zones. The program is designed to encourage long term investment in economically distressed areas and promote economic growth. These investments will provide support to projects focused on a wide array of issues including, for example, downtown revitalizations, improvements to workforce housing, and expansions of industrial parks and innovation districts.

In April of 2018, 74 census tracts across Kansas were nominated to be designated by the U.S. Department of Treasury as Kansas Opportunity Zones. These Designated Opportunity Zones are now eligible to receive investments through Qualified Opportunity Funds to spur economic growth in their communities.

For the investor, the Opportunity Zone program offers tax incentives including deferral and reduction of capital gains taxes when the gain is invested in a Qualified Opportunity Fund and maintained for a period of at least five years. Investors can defer tax on any prior gains invested in a Qualified Opportunity Fund (QOF) until the earlier of the date on which the investment is sold or exchanged, or December 31, 2026. If the Qualified Opportunity Fund investment is held for longer than 5 years, there is a 10% exclusion of the deferred gain, after 7 years, the 10% becomes 15%.  Additionally, if the investor holds the QOF investment for at least ten years, the investor is eligible for a permanent exclusion from taxable income of capital gains accrued on the QOF investment.

Get more FAQs about Opportunity Zones.

Kansas Opportunity Zone Map

The specific census tracts and their counties to be included in the governor’s nominations for designation as Opportunity Zones are:

Allen County20001952900 Allen
Anderson County20003953600 Anderson
Atchison County20005081900 Atchison
Barton County20009971400 Barton
20009971700 Barton
Butler County20015020400 Butler
Cloud County20029977200 Cloud
Cowley County20035493700 Cowley
20035493800 Cowley
Crawford County20037956600 Crawford
20037956900 Crawford
20037957500 Crawford
20037957600 Crawford
Douglas County20045000200 Douglas
20045000400 Douglas
Finney County20055960501 Finney
20055960600 Finney
Ford County20057961800 Ford
20057962101 Ford
Franklin County20059954200 Franklin
20059954400 Franklin
Gove County20063955100 Gove
20063955200 Gove
Graham County20065952100 Graham
Greeley County20071958100 Greeley
Jewell County20089576100 Jewell
20089576200 Jewell
Johnson County20091052102 Johnson
20091052417 Johnson
20091053555 Johnson
20091053557 Johnson
20091053601 Johnson
Labette County20099950400 Labette
Lane County20101956600 Lane
Leavenworth County20103070100 Leavenworth
Lyon County20111000500 Lyon
Miami County20121100700 Miami
Montgomery County20125950200 Montgomery
20125951200 Montgomery
20125951300 Montgomery
Norton County20137951700 Norton
Osage County20139010400 Osage
Reno County20155000600 Reno
20155000700 Reno
20155001000 Reno
20155001300 Reno
Republic County20157978300 Republic
Riley County20161000500 Riley
20161000801 Riley
20161001100 Riley
Rooks County20163974600 Rooks
20163974700 Rooks
Saline County20169000100 Saline
20169000600 Saline
Sedgwick County20173000400 Sedgwick
20173000900 Sedgwick
20173001100 Sedgwick
20173002600 Sedgwick
20173003200 Sedgwick
20173003700 Sedgwick
20173003800 Sedgwick
20173004300 Sedgwick
20173006300 Sedgwick
Shawnee County20177000700 Shawnee
20177000800 Shawnee
20177004000 Shawnee
Sherman County20181453700 Sherman
Stafford County20185470600 Stafford
Wyandotte County20209041800 Wyandotte
20209042200 Wyandotte
20209043905 Wyandotte
20209044101 Wyandotte
20209045100 Wyandotte
20209045200 Wyandotte


Contact Us

Amy Selm Assistance Team Manager Email (785) 296-3074 LinkedIn Full Contact Info

Growing Kansas

Receive the latest newsletter delivered straight to your inbox

Sign Up