Stay in touch:


Print this page

Cities, counties and townships are allowed to levy taxes on intangible property. Counties may tax such property at a rate of up to 0.75 percent, and cities or townships may impose an intangible property tax of up to 2.25 percent. The total intangible property tax burden of any individual or business cannot exceed 3 percent. In practice, most local governments have no tax on intangible property. One-third of the counties in Kansas, less than one-fifth of the cities and about one-third of the townships impose such a tax.

Intangible property is defined as monies and credits including gold and silver coin, United States Treasury notes and stock certificates otherwise taxable to the owner or holder. Intangibles also include notes, bonds and debentures; claims secured by deed; liquidated claims and demands for money; accounts receivable; and all written instruments, contracts or other writings evidencing, calling for, fixing or showing a fixed obligation in favor of the owner.

Contact Us

Susan NeuPoth Cadoret Director, Business & Community Development Email (785) 296-5298 LinkedIn

Growing Kansas

Receive the latest newsletter delivered straight to your inbox

Sign Up