The Kansas Workers’ Compensation Program has undergone major changes over the past few years. Dramatic annual decreases in rates have been made and new laws passed which have helped reduce the costs for employers. Premiums for workers’ compensation insurance are determined by applying the rate for occupational classes and experience ratings for individual firms. Premiums are calculated per $100 of annual employee wages. The rates are competitive and vary by insurance company. Workers’ compensation premium rates in Kansas are the ninth lowest in the nation. Kansas employers may secure workers’ compensation insurance for employees in one of three ways: Obtaining insurance from private insurance companies authorized to transact workers’ compensation insurance in Kansas, either in the voluntary market or assigned risk plan. Applying to the Kansas Department of Labor to become self-insured. Becoming a member of a group-funded workers’ compensation insurance pool, if eligible. The maximum weekly benefit is two-thirds of the employee’s average weekly wage at the time of the injury, up to a maximum of $627 per week.