Stay in touch:


Print this page

Foreign Trade Zones (FTZs) provide a duty- and quota-free entry point for foreign goods under customs supervision for an unlimited period. Kansas offers a variety of sites managed by separate grantee organizations in Kansas City and Wichita.

The Kansas City, Kansas, FTZ (Zone 17) currently includes nine counties: Atchison, Jefferson, Franklin, Wyandotte, Johnson, Douglas, Shawnee, Leavenworth and Miami. The grantee of the zone is the Greater Kansas City Foreign Trade Zone Inc., which is also the grantee of the Kansas City, Missouri, FTZ (Zone 15). Combined, the Kansas City Zones represent one of the largest in the country, offering more space and handling more volume than those of Chicago, Dallas, Denver, Minneapolis and St. Louis. Those who elicit FTZ designation may receive a response in as early as six weeks.

The Wichita, Kansas, FTZ (Zone 161) currently includes seven counties: Sedgwick, Sumner, Butler, Saline, Reno, McPherson and Harvey. The grantee of the zone is the Board of County Commissioners of Sedgwick County. Those who elicit FTZ designation may expect a response in as early as four weeks.

Contact Us

Susan NeuPoth Cadoret Director, Business & Community Development Email (785) 296-5298 LinkedIn

Growing Kansas

Receive the latest newsletter delivered straight to your inbox

Sign Up