



Kansas Rural Opportunity Zones

Kansas is filled with the natural beauty, simplicity and communal bonds of rural life. We want you to experience the peace and joy of rural Kansas so much that we'll even throw in some added bonuses.

The state of Kansas has designated 95 counties as "Rural Opportunity Zones," which means moving here comes with significant added benefits. Designated counties offer one or both of the following financial incentives for new full-time residents:

Student Loan Repayment Assistance

100% Personal State Income Tax Credit

Student Loan Repayment Assistance

- Administered By Kansas Department of Commerce
- Partners with counties, cities, employers, and foundations
- Provides up to \$15,000 in Student Loan Repayment Assistance over five years

Eligibility Requirements

- You must have a newly established permanent address in a participating county (address had to be established after the county began participating in the program).
- Applicants must have an active student loan balance in their name, as well as an associate's, bachelor's or post-graduate degree prior to moving to the participating county.
- Applicants will need to provide proof of domicile in the ROZ County, proof of previous residency (at least two years), transcripts with degree dates and student loan balance with distribution dates.

State Income Tax Credit

Are you thinking about moving to Kansas or have recently become a resident? New residents who move into one of our Rural Opportunity Zones may be eligible for a five-year 100% personal state income tax credit, if you haven't lived in Kansas for the past five years.

Learn More



ROZ Program

kansascommerce.gov/roz



ROZ Tax Credit

ksrevenue.gov/prtaxcredits-roz.html Email: kdor_tac@ks.gov