Skip Navigation


Commerce Announces $390,000 in Emergency HEAL Grant Funding Lieutenant Governor and Secretary of Commerce David Toland today announced more than $390,000 in Emergency Historic Economic Asset Lifeline (E-HEAL) grants has been awarded to five recipients. More than $770,000 private local matching funds will be added to that total, to help bring rural downtown buildings back from likely demolition or collapse – and rehabilitate them back into productive use. Kansas Main Street Selects Eight Rural Communities for New Housing Grant Lieutenant Governor and Commerce Secretary David Toland today announced eight inaugural grant recipients of the Residential Opportunities on Main Street (ROOMS) program. A total of eight projects in Designated Kansas Main Street communities are receiving $50,000 each to create a total of 35 new residential units in the upper floors of downtown buildings. Kansas Nonprofits Receive More than $4M in Community Service Program Tax Credits Governor Laura Kelly announced today that $4.1 million in Community Service Program (CSP) Tax Credits have been awarded to support the fundraising efforts of 26 nonprofit organizations across Kansas. These funds will enhance local access to quality childcare, healthcare, education, arts, and housing services. Kansas Earns Gold Shovel Award for Fourth Consecutive Year Governor Laura Kelly announced today that Kansas has garnered Area Development magazine’s coveted Gold Shovel Award for the fourth year in a row. The latest accolade—without precedent in state history—reflects the economic development success the state has experienced under the Kelly administration. View All


Business Regions Made in Kansas Our Department Publications Initiatives & Incentives Transparency Database About Us Notices Contact

Governor Kelly Announces Nearly $1.4M for Rural Economic Development

Jan 24, 2024

Share this post:

TOPEKA – Governor Laura Kelly today announced the most recent round of award recipients for the Historic Economic Asset Lifeline (HEAL) grant program, which was created to help rural communities revitalize downtown buildings and create safer downtowns with more job opportunities. A total of 21 projects from across the state will receive almost $1.4 million, along with more than $3.4 million in private local matching funds.

“Vibrant, safe downtowns spur economic growth by attracting businesses and jobs and establishing community pride,” Governor Laura Kelly said. “Investments like this bring life back into these communities and are instrumental to their long-term success.”

The Kansas Department of Commerce’s Office of Rural Prosperity, Community Development Division, and Kansas Main Street collaborate on HEAL to revitalize underutilized and dilapidated downtown structures where the cost to rehabilitate exceeds the limit that conventional financing can cover. Downtown landmarks that get new life breathed into them through HEAL are transformed into spaces that serve multiple purposes. Projects are to be completed within two years.

“The Kelly administration understands that delivering prosperity to all areas of the state requires supporting the creation of ready-to-occupy spaces that have character and are efficient to operate for start-ups,” Lieutenant Governor and Secretary of Commerce David Toland said. “HEAL helps drive economic growth into rural communities by improving their unique sense of place and increasing their appeal as a home of choice for current and future residents.”

Projects being funded in this round of awards include upper-story housing, child care facilities, retail businesses, and restaurants.

Funding for the HEAL program exists because of bipartisan support from Governor Kelly and the Kansas Legislature to provide annual allocations. A total of 51 applications were received during the latest HEAL grant round. A new round is expected to open this summer.

The fall 2023 HEAL grant awardees include:

Awardee CountyAward Amount
Chanute Reg. Development AuthorityNeosho    $50,900
City of AndaleSedgwick$100,000
City of ColumbusCherokee$100,000
City of HoltonJackson$100,000
City of LindsborgMcPherson$57,750
City of LoganPhillips$25,000
City of ParsonsLabette$100,000
City of StaffordStafford$100,000
Comanche County Economic DevelopmentComanche$8,882
Dickinson County Economic DevelopmentDickinson$57,728
Emporia Main StreetLyon$100,000
Friends of MuscotahAtchison$65,640
Girard Main StreetCrawford$10,000
Independence Chamber of CommerceMontgomery$100,000
Kearny CountyKearny$47,580
Marysville Chamber & Main StreetMarshall$7,222
Marshall County Partnership for GrowthMarshall$40,000
Pawnee County Economic DevelopmentPawnee$100,000
Republic County Economic DevelopmentRepublic$100,000
Stafford County Economic DevelopmentStafford$50,000
Winfield Chamber of CommerceCowley$51,000