Skip Navigation


Business Regions Made in Kansas Our Department Publications Initiatives & Incentives Transparency Database About Us Notices Contact

Governor Laura Kelly Announces More than $17 Million in Grants to Support Redevelopment Efforts for Rural Communities

Feb 11, 2022

Share this post:

TOPEKA – Governor Laura Kelly announced 40 rural Kansas communities will receive Community Development Block Grants (CDBG) totaling more than $17.6 million to help support critical community development projects. 

“These grants will help our communities improve public safety, revitalize vital infrastructure and maximize economic opportunity for our Kansas families,” Governor Laura Kelly said. “It’s further proof that investments like this are critical to positively impact lives of Kansans living in rural parts of the state.”

The awards are administered by the Kansas Department of Commerce and granted from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development’s Small Cities CDBG program. Eligible CDBG public improvement projects help fund water and wastewater projects, housing rehabilitation and other community facilities and services. 

“Community Development Block Grants strike at the core of what we all want to achieve for Kansas: strong communities, healthy families and a high quality of life,” Lieutenant Governor and Commerce Secretary David Toland said. “The investments announced today will create better living conditions for Kansans, which in turn drives new economic opportunities and promotes new growth across our state.”

Cities and counties, their award amount and project type are as follows: 

City of Atchison $370,000 Sidewalk improvements 
City of Arkansas City $300,000 Housing rehabilitation 
City of Auburn $330,765 Stormwater street improvements 
City of Augusta $260,000 Purchase fire engine 
City of Burr Oak $330,000 Water system improvements  
City of Bushton $530,000 Water system improvements  
City of Caldwell $300,000 Housing rehabilitation and demolition 
City of Cawker City $454,250 New water tower  
City of Cedar Vale $300,000 Housing rehabilitation and demolition 
City of Concordia $560,000 Purchase of a fire ladder truck  
City of Dodge City $300,000 Housing rehabilitation 
City of Douglass $99,000 New playground equipment  
City of Emporia $750,000 Street replacement with curbs and gutters 
City of Fort Scott $700,000 Water system improvements  
City of Fulton $270,000 Water system improvements  
City of Girard $600,000 New lift stations and improvements to the sanitary sewer system 
City of Glasco $323,530 Improvements to the lift station and sanitary sewer system
City of Hiawatha $600,000 Improvements to the lift station and sanitary sewer system  
City of Highland $600,000 Street improvements 
City of Humboldt $492,086 Street improvements 
City of Leon $616,000 Water system Improvements  
City of Lincoln Center $300,000 Housing rehabilitation and demolition 
City of Linwood $499,586 Replacement of remaining cast-iron water lines throughout town 
City of Lucas $600,000 New water tower and water supply improvements  
City of Lyndon $501,111 Construction of a new community center 
City of Lyons $300,000 Housing rehabilitation and demolition 
City of Mankato $600,000 Wastewater collection system repairs and improvements 
City of Marysville $600,000 Sanitary sewer treatment facility improvements 
McPherson County $250,000 Water system improvements  
City of McPherson $500,000 Housing rehabilitation and street improvements 
City of Medicine Lodge $480,000 Rehabilitate/re-purpose existing building for a non-profit daycare 
City of Miltonvale $383,000 Wastewater collection system and treatment facility improvements 
City of Moran $450,000 Water supply improvements  
City of Oberlin $466,598 Sanitary sewer treatment facility improvements 
Osage County $260,000 Sanitary sewer systems improvements 
City of Russell $360,300 Street improvements 
City of Saint Francis $600,000 Street improvements 
City of Timken $170,000 Water system improvements 
City of Valley Falls $600,000 Sanitary sewer systems improvements 
City of Wellington $634,706 Water system improvements 

The CDBG program, administered by the Community Development Division, provides federal funds to local governments for the development of viable communities by addressing their housing, public facilities, and economic development needs. To receive funds, the local government units must meet at least one of three national program objectives: 

  • The grant will benefit low- and moderate-income persons 
  • The grant will prevent or eliminate slums and blight 
  • The grant will resolve an urgent need where local resources are not available

The Small Cities CDBG program is one of the Community Development Division’s primary tools in supporting the state’s small, predominantly rural communities. 

 Photos and video from the CDBG Awards Ceremony are available here.