Skip Navigation
 

Menu

Business Regions Made in Kansas Our Department Publications Initiatives & Incentives Transparency Database Notices Contact
Back
Back
Accredited Angels Investors who make a qualified investment into an approved Kansas Qualifying Company may be eligible to receive a transferable Kansas Income Tax Credit for their investment.
Credit limits:
  • Up to 50% of the qualifying investment
  • No more than $100,000 in tax credit can be issued to an investor per company per year
  • No more than $350,000 in tax credit per calendar year.
  • Credits can only be issued to a natural person they can not be issued to a permitted entity

Investor Types

Angel Investor – an accredited investor who is a natural person or an owner of a permitted entity investor, who is of high net worth, as defined in 17 C.F.R. § 230.501(a) and who seeks high returns through private investments in start-up companies and may seek active involvement in business, such as consulting and mentoring the entrepreneur. 

  • Investment through Individual (Natural Person) Investor:
    • An Investor Summary table submitted by Qualified Kansas Business
    • Include for each investor — name, amount of investment, and amount of tax credits requested.
    • Copy of cleared check/wire from investor into Qualified Kansas Business.
    • Copy of subscription/purchase agreement, signed by company and investor.

Permitted Entity Investor – (A) any revocable trust, general partnership, limited partnership, corporation that has in effect a valid election to be taxed as an S corporation under the United States internal revenue code, or a limited liability company that has elected to be taxed as a partnership under the United States internal revenue code and (B) that was established and is operated for the sole purpose of making investments in other entities 

  • Investment through a qualified Permitted Entity Investor:

Note: Tax credits will be issued only to individual (natural persons) Owners of a Permitted Entity. Investment must be directly from Permitted Entity to Qualified Kansas Business. Investment through multiple Permitted Entities (e.g. LLC-1 to LLC-2 to Qualified Kansas business or Trust to LLC to Qualified Kansas Business) will not be eligible for tax credits.

  • Copy of the Permitted Entity’s operating agreement documenting that it is operated for the sole purpose of making investments in other entities.
    • Copy of the capitalization table of the Permitted Entity.
    • Copy of the individual investor’s check/wire into the Permitted Entity.
    • Copy of the Permitted Entity’s cleared check/wire into the Qualified Kansas Business.
    • All Owners of the permitted entity must register as an accredited investor

Investors who are not eligible for Tax Credits:

A person who serves in the business as a/an:

  • Executive
  • Officer
  • Employee
  • Vendor
  • Independent Contractor

Accredited Angel Investors must register as such to be eligible for the Kansas Angel Tax Credit 

2022 Qualified Businesses

2022 Qualified BusinessContactWebsite
Fair Market Health Dean Jargohttps://fairmarkethealth.com
Elias Animal Health Tammie Wahaushttp://eliasanimalhealth.com/
Soft Warfare LLCDenise Barronwww.softwarfare.com
iSocial, LLCBob Etzelwww.isocl.net
PMI Rate ProNomi Smithwww.pmiratepro.com
Knowledge as a ServiceB. W. Barkleyhttps://kaas.guru/
Clara Biotech, IncJim Westhttps://clarabio.tech
Advisor First, LLCSissy Ageehttps://advisorfirst.com/
Lawn Buddy, LLC Steven Wernerwww.lawnbuddy.com
Phoreus Biotechnology, Inc.Randall Toshhttp://www.phoreusbiotech.com
Wichita eSports, LLCRamsey Jamoulhttps://unified.gg
Ronawk, LLCA.J. Mellotthttps://www.ronawk.com
ConvIOT Inc.Terri Foudrayhttps://www.conviot.com
Thumbscore Inc.David Thornehttps://www.thumbscore.app/
Ad Astra Integrity Measurement SystemsAdam Courtneyhttp://adastra-ims.com
Axius Group LLCChuck Mellotthttp://www.axiusgroup.com
Greenfield RoboticsNandan Kallehttp://www.greenfieldrobotics.com
InsCyt, LLCJeff Stullhttp://www.inscyt.com
Precision Microwave, Inc.Austin Pfannenstielhttps://www.precisionmicrowavemedical.com
Tenfold Security Consulting Inc.Aaron Weissenfluhhttp://www.tenfoldsecurity.com
OssiFi-ML LLCDebra ElliesUnder Construction
Lunar, LLCBethany Whitehttp://lunarvip.io
Love Lifesciences, LLCNicholas Lovehttps://lovelifesciences.com/
OssiFi – ML, LLCDebra ElliesUnder Construction
Govbuilt, LLCRobert Disbergerhttps://www.govbuilt.com/
Lelex Prime, LLCDan Scotthttp://lelexprime.com
Livestock Lens, LLCManoj Georgehttps://livestocklens.com/
QuickHire, Inc.Deborah Gladneyhttps://www.getquickhire.com/

2021 Kansas Angel Investors Tax Credit (KAITC) Additional Resources

Historical Tax Credit Notification Form

2021 Kansas Angel Investors Tax Credit (KAITC) Business Archive

2021 Qualified Businesses

2021 Qualified Businesses

2021 Qualified BusinessContactWebsite
Advisor First LLCSissy Ageehttps://www.advisorbranch.com
Attentive Science, LLCAlfred Botchway https://attentivescience.com
Carsker,IncBrad Carpanihttps://carsker.com/
Cingulate Therapeutics LLCLou Van Hornhttp://www.cingulatetherapeutics.com
Clara Biotech, Inc.James Westhttps://clarabio.tech
ConvIOT Inc.Terri Foudrayhttp://conviot.com
CorrectiveTouch LLCBraden Archerhttp://correctivetouch.com
ELIAS Animal HealthTammie Wahaushttp://eliasanimalhealth.com
Foster Family Portal LLCPaul Epphttp://fosterfamilyportal.com
InsCyt, LLCJeff Stullhttp://www.inscyt.com
Kanpecia Biotech LLCMelanie Cheunghttps://www.kanpecia.com/
Knowledge as a Service, Inc.Brent Barkleyhttps://www.ringorang.com
Lawn Buddy LLCSteven Wernerhttp://www.lawnbuddy.com
OssiFi-MabDebra Ellies http://underconstruction.com
OssiFi-ML LLCDebra Ellieshttp://underconstruction.com
Patheous Health, IncMichael Peck
PMI Rate Pro LLCNomin Smithhttp://pmiratepro.com
Precision MicrowaveAustin Pfannenstielhttp://www.precisionmicrowavemedical.com
Predict Interactive, IncBecky Heringtonhttp://www.predictinteractive.com
Project ContentLuke Luttrellhttp://www.projectcontent.com
Ronawk LLCAdam Mellotthttp://www.ronawk.com
SOFTwarfare, LLCWyatt Cobbhttps://www.softwarfare.com/
TelememoryEliot Arnoldhttp://telememory.co
TileFive, LLCAndrew Potterhttp://www.approach.app/
Wichita Esports, LLCRamsey Jamoulhttp://www.uea.gg
XRepsBrandon Fuhrhttps://www.xreps.io