Skip Navigation


Business Regions Made in Kansas Our Department Publications Initiatives & Incentives Transparency Database About Us Notices Contact

Kansas Certified Sites

Primed for development. Ready for investment.

A Kansas Certified Site designation is issued to properties that have successfully completed a set of program requirements to demonstrate that the property is primed for development and ready for investment. 

The program seeks to reduce the risk associated with development by providing detailed information including:

  • Price and availability
  • Utilities
  • Access
  • Environmental concerns
  • Potential site development costs

Corrie Ann Campbell, Program Manager

(785) 213-7312

[email protected]

Why should a community create a Kansas Certified Site?

A property with a Kansas Certified Site designation is attractive to investors and site selectors because it:

  • Provides important background information on your site’s availability, utilities, site access, environmental records and potential site development costs
  • Encourages faster site selection decisions
  • Can help greenfield or expansion projects get started

The Kansas Certified Site designation is valid for three years*, unless the property is sold or leased within that time.

Successful recipients of the Kansas Certified Site designation receive many benefits, including marketing and investment attraction support. Kansas Certified Sites will be incorporated into a variety of marketing campaigns and strategies that attract investors, which may also include:

  • A profile on the Kansas Department of Commerce website
  • Visibility on Kansas Department of Commerce social media channels

Application Period

Applications for the Kansas Certified Site program are accepted year-round.

*A recertification application and annual report will be required to remain certified for years two and three; a full application will be required to achieve Kansas Certified Site designation after the third year. 

Before you apply, click “Certified Sites Questions” button to submit your questions.

Getting Started

Certified Sites Support Grant

The Kansas Department of Commerce (KDC) will provide matching dollars up to $10,000 for eligible entities to utilize towards the completion of the Certified Sites program application.

The funding is available for non-metro counties with a population less than 50,000. Applications from the following counties are not eligible: Butler, Douglas, Johnson, Leavenworth, Reno, Riley, Saline, Sedgwick, Shawnee, & Wyandotte.

Certified Sites Map

Certified Sites Questions


Additional Resources

Certified Sites Guidelines