Community Development Block Grants

Helping enhance livability in Kansas communities


Debbie Beck, Program Manager

(785) 296-7092

The Small Cities Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) program allows the Department of Commerce to distribute federal funds to Kansas cities and counties looking to improve their community.

CDBG awards are given in four primary categories:

  1. Annual Competitive Grants
    1. Water and Sewer
    2. Housing Rehabilitation
    3. Community Facilities
  2. Economic Development Grants
  3. Commercial Rehabilitation Grants
  4. Urgent Need Grants

Helping Communities Respond to COVID-19

As communities come together in their response to COVID-19, additional CDBG resources are being made available through the CDBG-CV program.

Who Qualifies
  • All cities and counties in the state of Kansas, except for Johnson County, all towns within Johnson County, Kansas City, Manhattan, Lawrence, Topeka, Wichita and Leavenworth
Eligibility Requirements

To receive CDBG funds, a project must meet at least one of the following federally mandated criteria:

  • Benefits low- and/or moderate-income individuals
  • Removes or precents slum or blighted conditions
  • Eliminates an urgent need created by a disaster when local funds are unavailable
Application Period(s)
  • Water & Sewer: applications accepted through Sept. 25, 2020
  • Housing Rehabilitation: application period has been extended to Sept. 25, 2020
  • Community Facilities: applications accepted through Oct. 30, 2020
  • Economic Development: applications accepted Jan. 2-Dec. 4, 2020
  • Commercial Rehabilitation: applications accepted Jan. 2-Dec. 4, 2020
  • Urgent Need: applications accepted year round on an as-needed basis

Additional Resources

Frequently Asked Questions
General Application Requirements
Resource Library

Want to Learn More About Community Development Programs?