Stay in touch:

programs & Services

Kansas: Central To Your Success

Contact UsMeet The Team
Print this page

High Performance Incentive Program (HPIP)

The High Performance Incentive Program provides tax incentives to employers that pay above-average wages and have a strong commitment to skills development for their workers. This program recognizes the need for Kansas companies to remain competitive and encourages capital investment in facilities, technology and continued employee training and education. A substantial investment tax credit for new capital investment in Kansas and a related sales tax exemption are the primary benefits of this program.

Program Details

HPIP applications will require a non-refundable application fee per worksite location to be submitted with the application.

  1. First time certifications - $750; or
  2. Re-certifications - $250; or
  3. One page carry-forward only - $0.

The fee can be paid by Credit Card, Debit Card, or ACH online (click here to make an online payment); or by mailing a paper check to the Kansas Department of Commerce (click here to download and complete the Paper Check Fee Form). Please note, online payments are preferred.

*A 2.5% service fee will be applied to online Credit and Debit Card payments (2.5% of the total charge)
*A $1.50 service fee will be applied to online ACH payments


HPIP offers employers four potential benefits:

  1. A 10 percent income tax credit for eligible capital investment that exceeds $50,000 ($1M in five metro counties) at a company’s facility, with a carry-forward that can be used in any of the next 16 years in which the qualified facility re-qualifies for HPIP.
  2. A sales tax exemption to use in conjunction with the company’s eligible capital investment at its qualified facility.
  3. A training tax credit of up to $50,000.
  4. Priority consideration for access to other business assistance programs.

NOTE: To be considered for HPIP, you must first submit the Project Description form before you commit to your project.


HPIP Wage Standards

Companies may select to wage-qualify a worksite using either their three-digit or four-digit North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code. Wage standards based on three-digit codes are divided into six county regions and six metro counties. Wage standards based on the four-digit NAICS code are divided into two county regions and the six metro counties. Once the selection is made, it is final and cannot be changed for the duration of that project.

Click here to Wage Standards.

Contact Us

Richard Martinez HPIP Program Manager Email (785) 296-7174 LinkedIn

Wayne Groves Program Technician Email (785) 296-1131 LinkedIn

Growing Kansas

Receive the latest newsletter delivered straight to your inbox

Sign Up